School of Information Sciences

The iSchool congratulates December 2014 graduates!


The University of Pittsburgh's School of Information Sciences (iSchool) is delighted to congratulate our December 2014 graduates! At the iSchool's winter recognition ceremony on Friday, December 5, more than 150 family, friends and supporters joined graduates at the William Pitt Union. The ceremony was led by Dean and Professor Ronald Larsen who charged graduates to remember the challenging lessons learned during their time at the iSchool as they go forth in their lives as Pitt alumni.

Dean Larsen also reminded students of their many accomplishments over the past year and of the exciting possibilities in store for the school and its alumni as a result of new partnerships being forged under the leadership of Chancellor Patrick Gallagher. He welcomed the Class of 2014 to the iSchool alumni community that boasts nearly 14,000 members.

Following this introduction, students were presented with their degrees by their program chairs: Bob Perkoski (undergraduate Information Science), Peter Brusilovsky (Information Science and Technology), Sheila Corrall (Library and Information Science) and David Tipper (Telecommunications and Networking).

Look for more photos and stay in touch on our Facebook page, LinkedIn and Twitter. Congratulations and best wishes to our new iSchool graduates!

Bachelor of Science in Information Science

Tyler Brooks
Kevin Donohue
Jordan Feldman
Brett Hart
Richard Hilinski
Joshua Howell
Walter Ippolito
Mandy Kendall
David Lauterbach
Mark Lee
Joseph Ley
Jose Marte
Mitchell Mary
Sabrina Murphy
Kacie Ann Nakamura
Raymond Newby
Chinelo Onuoha
Michael Quach
Bobby Scruggs
Kathryn Somerville
Brandon Stott
Mara Sullivan
Brian Uhrin
Gregory Wehner
Shakir Wellons
Geoffrey Wolf
Benjamin Yasika

Master of Science in Information Science

Artem Beaty-Avdonin
William Bechtold
Pratiba Behara
Charles Bowman
Rui Cai
Dibya Chattopadhyay
Yaping Chen
Zhefeng Chen
Sagar Deshpande
Jasmin Dhamelia
Yaxian Hao
Hanying Huang
Sean Hutchison
Michael Kozenko
Somi Laad
Xuan Li
Yaping Li
Jun Liu
Yihan Lu
Regina Selvi Panneer Selvam
Arpit Paruthi
Rohit Purswani
Shimiao Ren
Thomas Robinson
Pavel Shulikov
Junyi Sun
Seyed Behzad Tabibian
Haoyu Wang
Huan Wang
Lin Wang
Yue Wang
Yue Wang
Victoria Yew
Jun Yin
Hui Zhao
Qiannan Zhao
Chaoran Zhou
Yanyang Zhou
Zhaoyi Zhou

Master of Science in Library & Information Science

Sarah Beckman
Alison Brown
Jacquelyn Cowan
Stephen Giles
Courtney Hanson
Heather Johnson
Michael Kattner
Kathleen Loudon
Colin O'Hanlon
Liesl Ostergaard
Jill Shubilla
Maria Urick
Erin Wolverton

Master of Science in Telecommunications

Amogh Deshmukh
Kevin Gillett
Maksym Kryvenko
Harshil Mittal
Nour Eldeen Mohamed
Smruthi Sudhindra
Wuttinun Tunsukatanon
Yuxiang Zhang

Doctor of Philosophy in Information Science

Mohammed Altamaimi
Charles Grindle
Natthapong Liamcharoen
Xin Wang

Doctor of Philosophy in Library Science

Michele Leininger
Tonia Sutherland

Content for class "clear" Goes Here


SIS News

SIS Faculty and students are leaders in the Information Professions. Their research, teaching, and projects are often newsworthy.