School of Information Sciences

The iSchool congratulates July 2014 graduates!


The University of Pittsburgh’s School of Information Sciences (iSchool) celebrates our 2014 summer graduates! At the iSchool’s summer recognition ceremony on Friday, July 25, more than 200 family, friends and supporters joined graduates at the O’Hara Student Center for the ceremony led by Associate Dean and Professor Martin B. H. Weiss. Weiss called upon graduates to look back on their many accomplishments with pride and reminded students of the centrality of information to many of the past year’s headlines. He charged graduates to apply what they learned at the iSchool for the betterment of society in their future careers and invited them to stay in touch as members of the iSchool community.

Following this introduction, Weiss and faculty colleagues presented students from each of the programs with their degrees. Undergraduate program chair, Bob Perkoski, and associate professor and director of the School Librarian Certification Program, Mary Kay Biagini, personally congratulated students in undergraduate information science and library and information science, respectively. Jennie Crowley (MLIS’11) invited the recent graduates to engage with the iSchool alumni community which boasts more than 13,000 members and is active in a number of events throughout the year. Congratulations and best wishes iSchool graduates!

Students who published electronic theses and dissertations as part of the culmination of their studies:

Bachelor of Science in Information Science

Ayla Gounder
Joshua Kiley
David Lauterbach
Daniel Murray
Steven Schilinski
Lynda Syn
Andrew Tjader

Master of Science in Information Science

Yuriy Aleksandrov
Jonathan Fischer
Corey Keller
Qianwen Li
Hao Wang

Master of Science in Telecommunications

Chaitali Raikar

Certificate of Advanced Study in Telecommunications

Max Putas

Doctor of Philosophy in Information Science

Yi-huang Kang
Amirreza Masoumzadeh Tork
Monsak Socharoentum
Lawrence Udeigwe

Doctor of Philosophy in Information Science a concentration in Telecommunications

Saman Taghavi Zargar
Kunjie Xu

Doctor of Philosophy in Library Science

Eleanor Mattern
Lindsay Mattock

Master of Science in Library & Information Science

Laura Gardoski
Shawn Garren
Donglin Ge
Camille George
Spencer Goodwin
Emily Gorman
Sabrina Gorse
Kristina Harris
Megan Hedges
Kelly Holman
Brandon Hugo
Lydia Kibler
Kathleen Klemens
Andrea Kramer
Adrianne Krings
Jessica Lamb
Natasha Margulis
Ian McGlory
Sophia McGuire
Alexander Miller
Amanda Miller
Katlynn Miller
Emily Mross
Lee Nolan
Caitlin Ostberg
Emma Oxford
Christopher Pachter
Amanda Peters
Meghan Philp
Nicole Pierson
Suzanna Ploszaj
Paul Pozorski
Aisling Quigley
Elizabeth Raddatz
Anna Raugalis
Emily Reed
Rachel Reeves
Jancie Regis
Stephanie Reinhardt
Ignacio Sanchez
Elizabeth Schaller
Rejoice Scherry
Theresa Schneider
Amy Shope
Samuel Snodgrass
Ashley Sowa
Teresa Stage
Abby Thompson
Gina Vitale
Angela Wiley
Edward Wolf
Rachel Zibaila

Content for class "clear" Goes Here


SIS News

SIS Faculty and students are leaders in the Information Professions. Their research, teaching, and projects are often newsworthy.